Donigan Merritt

Welcome to the Donigan Merritt website!

Visit Merritt's literary blog at Random Literary Blogging


About the author:

Henry Donigan Merritt, Jr., was born in southwest Arkansas. He has worked as a journalist, scuba diver, fishing boat captain, sailing instructor, and university professor. He holds BA and MA degrees in philosophy from Simpson College and the Claremont Graduate School, and a Master of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing from the Iowa Writers Workshop.

Merritt's first novel, One Easy Piece, was published by Coward-McCann in 1981. Since then, he has published ten novels, most recently Species of Feeling, published by B&B Books in 2013.

He currently lives in Rome.

Since completing his MFA in 1981, the same year his first novel was published, Merritt has worked since as a writer, with the exception of a six-year period teaching philosophy for a university in the provincial capital of Bratislava. He has lived in Central Europe, South Africa, Berlin, Washington, DC., Buenos Aires, Mexico City, and southern California with his diplomat wife; they have two children and three grandchildren.

Berlin, 2007

About writing and writers:

Merritt says that he does not know when he became a writer because he does not believe that people become something like that. Writers are people who write, and he has always written, and thus, always been a writer. Authors are writers who have been published, but writers are simply people who write.

About teaching writing:

He believes that of course writing is taught, if one means learning the rules, coming to understand the structure of one's language, becoming comfortable with words, sentences, and paragraphs. The essentials of any craft are taught, and then enhanced through practice. But knowing how to play chords on a guitar, no matter how much and how long one practices, does not make an Eric Clapton. Knowing how to string words together does not make a James Salter. One must know the rules before having the honor of breaking them, and breaking the rules is the source of literature.

Current work:

His novel-in-progress is called "Erasing Rose." He hopes to have it finished by the end of 2014.

The author and his wife in Berlin.

Complete list of Merritt's novels 

One Easy Piece, Coward-McCann, 1981
My Sister's Keeper, Coward-McCann, 1983
Hatch's Island, Bantam,1986
Hatch's Conspiracy, Bantam, 1987
Hatch's Mission, Bantam, 1988
Possessed by Shadows, Other Press, 2005
The Common Bond, Other Press, 2008 
Blossom, Author House, 2011
The Love Story of Paul Collins, B&B Books, 2012
Species of Feeling, B&B Books, 2013

B & B Books
Boulder, Colorado USA

Reading at the Buenos Aires International Book Fair, April, 2011
Website Builder